Login | Forgot Password? | Join the Community
Richard Thomas ACTOR


Richard Thomas was born on June 13th, 1951 in New York City, New York with the birth name Richard Earl Thomas born to parents Barbara and Richard S. Thomas.  Both of his parents worked as professional dancers with the New York City Ballet and they also owned the New York School of Ballet.
Due to his family lifestyle, Thomas became involved in dancing at a very young age and by the age of seven he made his Broadway debut in the stage production of, "Sunrise at Campobello" (1958).
It did not take long for him to break into the television industry working as a child actor.  He was cast on a number of soap opera's such as, "The Edge of Night" (1961) and "As the World Turns (1966-1967).
Thomas was soon given the opportunity to take on film roles as well appearing in, "Winning" (1969), "Last Summer" (1969) and the television movie, "The Red Badge of Courage" (1974). 
His career really took of with his role on the television series, "The Waltons" (1971-1977).  In total he appeared in 122 episodes and won an Emmy in 1972 for his performance.  Other television appearances he added to his resume credits were, "Bonanza", "Marcus Welby, M.D", "American Playhouse", "Roots: The Next Generation", "Hallmark Hall of Fame", "Tales From the Crypt", "Promised Land", "Touched By an Angel" and "Law & Order".
He also returned back to stage acting after a twelve years absence appearing in, "Hamlet, "Richard II", "Tiny Alice" and "Fifth of July".
On top of his highly busy schedule on television series, Thomas also appeared on a variety of television movies such as, "Lincoln" (1992), "Precious Victims" (1993), "The Christmas Box" (1995), "Big & Hairy" (1998), "In the Name of the People" (2000) and "Anna's Dream" (2002) among many others. 
Some of his latest appearances have been in 2006 when he joined a national tour for a production of, "Twelve Angry Men" and also did some commercial work for such products as, BB&T, Aleve and Mercedes-Benz.
Richard Thomas has married twice throughout his lifetime.  His first marriage was in 1975 to Alma Gonzales and the couple had four children, a son, Richard Francisco and three triplet daughters together before the marriage ended in divorce in 1993.  He then married his present wife, Georgiana Bischoff in 1994 and they have one child together. 
Richard Thomas continues to work as an actor being seen on the television series, Rizzolo & Isles (2011) and the television movie, "Time after Time" (2011).


2011 Rizzoli & Isles
2011 Time after Time
2009 Law & Order
2009 Taking Woodstock 
2006 Nightmares & Dreamscapes: From the Stories of Stephen King
2006 Wild Hearts 
2005 Annie's Point 
2004 Century City 
2002-2003 Just Cause 
2002 Anna's Dream 
2002 Beyond the Prairie, Part 2: The True Story of Laura Ingalls Wilder 
2001 The Miracle of the Cards 
2001 Law & Order: Special Victims Unit 
2000 The Christmas Secret
2000 Wonder Boys 
2000 Bloodhounds, Inc. #4: Invasion of the UFO's
2000 In the Name of the People 
2000 The Million Dollar Kid
2000 BloodHounds, Inc. #5: Fangs for the Memories
2000 BloodHounds, Inc. #3: Phantom of the Haunted Church 
2000 BloodHounds, Inc
1999 The Practice
1999 Beyond the Prairie: The True Story of Laura Ingalls Wilder 
1998 Big and Hairy 
1997-1998 Touched by an Angel
1998 Flood: A River's Rampage 
1997-1998 Promised Land 
1998 The Adventures of Swiss Family Robinson
1997 A Thousand Men and a Baby
1997 A Walton Easter
1996 Timepiece 
1996 What Love Sees 
1996 West Virginia
1995 The Christmas Box 
1995 The Invaders 
1995 Down, Out & Dangerous
1995 The Outer Limits
1995 A Walton Wedding 
1995 Death in Small Doses 
1994 To Save the Children 
1993 A Walton Thanksgiving Reunion 
1993 Linda 
1993 Precious Victims 
1993 I Can Make You Love Me
1992 Lincoln 
1992 Crash Landing: The Rescue of Flight 232 
1991 Yes Virginia, There Is a Santa Claus
1991 Mission of the Shark: The Saga of the U.S.S. Indianapolis 
1990 It
1990 Tales from the Crypt
1990 Common Ground 
1990 Andre's Mother 
1990 The Easter Story 
1989 Glory! Glory
1988 Go Toward the Light 
1988 Andy Colby's Incredible Adventure 
1985 Final Jeopardy 
1958-1984 Hallmark Hall of Fame
1983 Hobson's Choice 
1983 Living Proof: The Hank Williams, Jr. Story
1982 Johnny Belinda 
1982 American Playhouse 
1981 Berlin Tunnel 21
1981 Barefoot in the Park 
1980 To Find My Son 
1980 Battle Beyond the Stars 
1979 No Other Love 
1979 Roots: The Next Generations 
1978 Getting Married
1971-1978 The Waltons 
1977 September 30, 1955 
1975 The Silence
1974 The Red Badge of Courage 
1973 The CBS Festival of Lively Arts for Young People 
1973 The Thanksgiving Story
1972 You'll Like My Mother 
1972 Rod Serling's Night Gallery
1971 Cactus in the Snow 
1971 The F.B.I. 
1971 The Todd Killings 
1971 Red Sky at Morning 
1969-1970 Marcus Welby, M.D.
1970 Bonanza 
1970 Bracken's World 
1970 Medical Center 
1969 Last Summer
1969 Winning
1966-1967 As the World Turns 
1965 Seaway 
1964 A Flame in the Wind
1958 From These Roots 
1961 The Edge of Night 
1961 The Defenders 
1961 1, 2, 3 Go 
1961 Great Ghost Tales
1961 'Way Out
1959 The DuPont Show of the Month
1957 La locura del rock and roll

Copyright © 2014 Matinee Classics LLC - All Rights Reserved. Developed by: VividConcept.com