Login | Forgot Password? | Join the Community
Richard Farnsworth ACTOR

Richard Farnsworth was born on September 1st, 1920 in Los Angeles, California.  He was raised during the Great Depression and his father passed away when he was only seven years old leaving his mother and aunt to raise him.  
He began his career in the industry as a stuntman and worked in Hollywood for thirty years only as a stuntman until he decided to break into acting. 
As a young boy growing up in Los Angeles he grew up riding horses and worked as a stable hand at a polo field.  By the age of sixteen he was given the opportunity to use his talent by appearing in films.  Soon he was doing 'double' work for such western actors as Roy Rogers, Kirk Douglas, Henry Fonda and Gary Cooper.   

Some of the early films he appeared in were, "The Adventures of Marco Polo" (1938), "Marx Brothers' A Day at the Races" (1937), "Gone with the Wind" (1939) starring Clark Gable, Vivien Leigh, Olivia de Havilland and Leslie Howard just to name a few of the numerous stars, "Gunga Din" (1938) starring Cary Grant, Victor McLaglen and Douglas Fairbanks, "Red River" (1948) starring John Wayne, "The Wild One" (1953) starring Marlon Brando and "The Ten Commandments" (1956) starring Charlton Heston, Yul Brynner, John Derek, Yvonne De Carlo, Edward G. Robinson, Vincent Price, John Carradine and Anne Baxter
After gaining thirty years of experience as a stuntman in Hollywood he decided to try acting when he was already fifty years old.   
In 1961 he was the co-founder of Stuntmen's Association.  In 1978 he starred in the film, "Comes a Horseman" (1978) starring James Caan and Jane Fonda, a role for which he won an Academy Award nomination.
Soon he was adding such film credits to his resume in, "The Grey Fox" (1982), a role for which he won a Genie Award followed by roles in, "The Natural" (1984) starring Robert Redford, "Misery" (1990) and his final film role was in, "The Straight Story" (1999).  For his part in this film, he received an Academy Award for Best Actor.
In 1997 he was inducted into the Hall of Great Western Performers of the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum.  He was also honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame for his contribution to the Motion Picture Industry.    

He married only once during his lifetime to Margaret Hill in 1947 and they had two children together and remained married until she passed away on August 7th, 1985.  He did not re-marry but was engaged to Jewely Van Valin, however and on October 6th, 2000 he passed away in Lincoln, New Mexico after committing suicide by a gunshot after finding out he had been diagnosed with terminal bone cancer.  
Richard Farnsworth's remains are interred besides his only wife in the Forest Lawn Hollywood Hills Cemetery in Los Angeles, California.          


1999   The Straight Story

1998   Best Friends for Life 

1994   Lassie

1994   The Getaway

1993   The Fire Next Time

1992   The Boys of Twilight

1991   Highway to Hell 

1990   Havana 

1990   Misery

1990   The Two Jakes

1989   Desperado: The Outlaw Wars 

1989   Red Earth, White Earth 

1988   The River Pirates 

1987   Highway to Heaven 

1987   CBS Summer Playhouse 

1985   Space Rage 

1985   Anne of Green Gables 

1985   Chase

1985   Wild Horses 

1985   Sylvester 

1985   Into the Night

1984   Rhinestone

1984   The Natural

1983   Ghost Dancing

1983   Travis McGee

1983   Independence Day 

1982   Waltz Across Texas 

1982   The Grey Fox 

1981   The Cherokee Trail

1981   Walt Disney's Wonderful World of Color 

1981   A Few Days in Weasel Creek 

1981   The Legend of the Lone Ranger 

1981   Ruckus 

1981   The Texas Rangers

1980   Resurrection

1980   Tom Horn

1978   Comes a Horseman

1977   Another Man, Another Chance

1977   Little House on the Prairie

1977   Roots 

1976   The Outlaw Josey Wales 

1976   The Duchess and the Dirtwater Fox 

1975   Strange New World 

1975   The Apple Dumpling Gang 

1974   Honky Tonk

1974   Blazing Saddles

1973   Papillon 

1973   The Soul of Nigger Charley 

1972   The Life and Times of Judge Roy Bean

1972   Ulzana's Raid

1971-1972  Bonanza 

1972   Pocket Money

1972   The Cowboys 

1970   Monte Walsh

1970   The High Chaparral 

1968   The Stalking Moon

1967   Cimarron Strip

1965-1967  The Big Valley 

1966   Texas Across the River 

1966   Duel at Diablo 

1963   The Jolly Genie 

1960-1961  Laramie 

1960   Wanted: Dead or Alive

1960   Spartacus

1959   The Rebel

1959   State Trooper

1958   Cimarron City

1958   Adventures of Wild Bill Hickok

1957   The Hard Man

1957   The Tin Star

1956   Zane Grey Theater

1956   The Ten Commandments

1955   Soldiers of Fortune 

1951-1954  The Adventures of Kit Carson 

1953   The Wild One

1953   Arrowhead

1953   Arena

1949   Mighty Joe Young 

1948   Red River 

1943   This Is the Army 

1939   Gone with the Wind 

1939   Gunga Din 

1938   The Adventures of Marco Polo

1937   A Day at the Races

Copyright © 2014 Matinee Classics LLC - All Rights Reserved. Developed by: VividConcept.com