Login | Forgot Password? | Join the Community
Greer Garson ACTOR

Greer Garson was born on September 29th, 1904 in London in the United Kingdom with the birth name Eileen Evelyn Greer Garson. After high school she went on to study at the University of London with the goals of becoming a teacher.  After earning her degree she found work with an advertisement agency and for fun she appeared in some local stage productions.
When Louis B. Mayer traveled to London in search of new talent, he discovered Garson and approached her inquiring her interest in acting.  She was soon signed to a contract and in 1939, she had her first American film role, "Goodbye, Mr. Chips" Robert Donat, Terry Kilburn, John Mills and Paul Henreid, for which she earned an Academy Award nomination for Best Actress.
Now with a name in Hollywood, she was already becoming a highly desired actress and began appearing in more films such as, "Price and Prejudice" (1940) starring with Laurence Olivier, Edna May Oliver, Maureen O'Sullivan, Mary Boland, Ann Rutherford, Heather Angel and Edmund Gwenn and "Blossoms in the Dust" (1941) co-starring Walter Pidgeon, Felix Bressart, Marsha Hunt, Henry O'Neill and Fay Holden, for which she earned another Academy Award nomination for her performance.
In 1942 she won her first Academy Award for her role in the film, "Mrs. Miniver" starring alongside Walter Pidgeon, Teresa Wright, Reginald Owen, Henry Travers, Henry Wilcoxon, Richard Ney and Dame May Whitty and her next two film roles also earned her Academy Award nominations, "Madame Curie" (1943) co-starring Walter Pidgeon, Robert Walker, Henry Travers, Albert Bassermann, C. Aubrey Smith, Dame May Whitty, Reginald Owen, Van Johnson and Margaret O'Brien and "Mrs. Parkington" (1944).  Every film she partook in and every role she portrayed earned her more success in the industry and again in 1945 she appeared on the big screen in, "The Valley of Decision" receiving another nomination.
The early years of her career had been an overwhelming success that it came as a shock to everyone in Hollywood that the films she would appear on in her later years were not as successful such as, "Adventure" (1945), "Desire Me" (1947), "That Forsythe Woman" (1949) starring Errol Flynn, Walter Pidgeon, Robert Young and Janet Leigh and "The Miniver Story" (1950).
Garson made a come back with her role in the film, "Sunrise at Campobello" (1960) and again she earned another Academy Award nomination.  in 1966 she appeared in her last films, "The Singing Nun" and "The Happiest Millionaire" (1967).  She did not retire from the industry, but instead turned her focus to television appearing on such series as, "The Love Boat", "Little Woman", "The Dupont Show of the Week" and "The Virginian".  Garson also worked on a variety of television movies at the later part of her career such as, "Invincible Mr. Disraeli" and "Crown Matrimonial".
Greer married a total of three times throughout her lifetime.  Her first husband was Edward Alec Abbot Snelson whom she wed in 1933 and divorced later in 1940.  Her second marriage was to Richard Ney in 1943 but this marriage also came to an end in 1947.  Her third time to marry was to E.E. Fogelson in 1949 and together the couple relocated to New Mexico and lived in a ranch until he passed away on December 1st, 1987.  She never had any biological children but did have three step children from her third husband.
Garson moved to Texas and lived the remainder of her life there until she passed away at the age of ninety one, on April 6th, 1996 in Dallas, Texas after suffering from heart failure.  Her remains are interred in the Sparkman-Hillcrest Memorial Park Cemetery in Dallas Texas. 
Greer Garson was a very charitable lady and donated a large sum of money to have the Greer Theater built at the College of Santa Fe.  Garson was also honored with receiving the Women's International Center Living Legacy Award in 1990 and also received the TACA/Neiman-Marcus Silver Cup Award for her contributions to the arts in Dallas, Texas.       


1982 The Love Boat 
1978 Little Women 
1976 The Little Drummer Boy Book II
1974 Crown Matrimonial
1970 The Virginian
1968 The Little Drummer Boy
1967 The Happiest Millionaire
1966 The Singing Nun 
1963 Invincible Mr. Disraeli 
1962 The DuPont Show of the Week 
1960 Sunrise at Campobello 
1960 Captain Brassbound's Conversion 
1956-1960 G.E. True Theater 
1959 The Big Party 
1957 Telephone Time 
1956 The Little Foxes 
1956 Star Stage 
1955 Strange Lady in Town 
1955 Producers' Showcase 
1954 Her Twelve Men 
1953 Scandal at Scourie 
1951 The Law and the Lady 
1950 The Miniver Story 
1949 That Forsyte Woman 
1948 Julia Misbehaves 
1947 Desire Me 
1945 Adventure 
1945 The Valley of Decision 
1944 Mrs. Parkington 
1943 Madame Curie 
1942 Random Harvest 
1942 Mrs. Miniver 
1941 When Ladies Meet 
1941 Blossoms in the Dust 
1940 Pride and Prejudice
1939 Remember? 
1939 Goodbye, Mr. Chips
1937 How He Lied to Her Husband
1937 Theatre Parade
1937 The School for Scandal
1937 Twelfth Night
1934 Inasmuch...

Matinee Classics - That Forsyte Woman starring Errol Flynn, Greer Garson, Walter Pidgeon, Robert Young, Janet Leigh and Harry Davenport

Copyright © 2014 Matinee Classics LLC - All Rights Reserved. Developed by: VividConcept.com