Login | Forgot Password? | Join the Community
Colin Firth ACTOR

Colin Firth was born on September 10th, 1960 in Grayshott, Hampshire in England with the birth name Colin Andrew Firth.  His father, David Norman Lewis Firth, was a lecturer at Winchester University College and his mother, Shirley Jean also worked as a lecturer at the Open University. 
Part of his childhood was spent living in Nigeria where is father taught.  he then relocated with his family back to the united States and went to school in Missouri and then junior high and high school in Hampshire.   
His career in entertainment began with working as a stage actor in such productions as, "Another Country" (1983).  He then was cast for his first film in 1984 for the screen adaptation of the play, "Another Country".
Some of his earlier roles were in the film, "A Moth in the Country" (1987), "Valmont" (1989) and "Apartment Zero" (1988).  In 1995 he gained a significant level of popularity when he was cast in the television adaptation of, "Pride and Prejudice" as Mr. Darcy. 
He was now more well known in the industry and he added to his resume roles in such films as, "The English Patient" (1996), "Fever Pitch" (1997), "Shakespeare in Love" (1998), "Relative Values" (2000), "What a Girl Wants" (2003), "Hope Springs" (2003), "Where the Truth Lies" (2005), "The Last Legion" (2007), "Mamma Mia!" (2008) and "A Christmas Carol" (2009).
In 2011, Firth earned an Academy Award for his role in the film, "The King's Speech".  He also earned a Golden Globe, BAFTA and Screen Actors Guild Award for Best Actor for his performance in this film. 
Also in 2011, Colin Firth was honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame for his contribution to the Motion Picture Industry.  He also returns to working as a stage actor frequently and has been in such productions as, "Three Days of Rain", "The Caretaker", "Desire Under the Elms" and "Chatsky".
Along with his lengthy acting resume he is also a published writer.  Firth published a collection of short stories titled, "The Department of Nothing" and he also authored the book, "We Are One: A Celebration of Tribal Peoples".
He has been a long time activist for certain issues he feels very strongly about, such as, being a supporter of Survival International which is an organization that protects the rights of tribal people.  He is also very passionate about a campaign to stop the deportation of a certain group of asylum seekers and is also involved in an organization called, 'Make Trade Fair' which focuses on certain trade practices that are unfair and the issues with labor rights and compensation.
Currently, Firth lives in London and is married to his only wife, Livia Giuggioli whom he wed in 1997 and they have two children, Luca and Matteo.  He also has one other son, William from a long time relationship with actress Meg Tilly.


2013 The Railway Man
2012 Arthur Newman, Golf Pro
2012 Gambit 
2011 Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
2010 Steve
2010 Main Street 
2010 The King's Speech 
2009 St Trinian's II: The Legend of Fritton's Gold 
2009 A Christmas Carol
2009 A Single Man 
2009 Dorian Gray 
2008 Easy Virtue 
2008 A Summer in Genoa
2008 Mamma Mia!
2008 The Accidental Husband 
2007 St. Trinian's
2007 Then She Found Me 
2007 When Did You Last See Your Father? 
2007 The Last Legion 
2007 Celebration
2006 Born Equal
2005 Nanny McPhee
2005 Where the Truth Lies 
2004 Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason
2004 Saturday Night Live 
2004 Trauma 
2003 Love Actually
2003 Girl with a Pearl Earring 
2003 What a Girl Wants 
2003 Hope Springs 
2002 The Importance of Being Earnest
2001 Fourplay
2001 Conspiracy 
2001 Bridget Jones's Diary 
2000 Donovan Quick 
2000 Relative Values 
1999 The Turn of the Screw
1999 Blackadder Back & Forth 
1999 The Secret Laughter of Women 
1999 My Life So Far 
1998 Shakespeare in Love
1997 A Thousand Acres
1997 Fever Pitch
1997 Nostromo 
1996 The English Patient 
1995 Pride and Prejudice 
1994-1995 Performance
1995 Circle of Friends 
1994 Ruth Rendell Mysteries
1994 Playmaker 
1993 The Advocate
1992 Hostages 
1992 Mad at the Moon 
1991 The Play on One 
1991 Femme Fatale
1990 Wings of Fame 
1989 Valmont
1988 Apartment Zero 
1988 Tumbledown 
1984-1987 Hallmark Hall of Fame
1987 A Month in the Country 
1987 Tales from the Hollywood Hills: Pat Hobby Teamed with Genius 
1986 Lost Empires 
1985 Nineteen Nineteen 
1985 Dutch Girls 
1984 Another Country
1984 Crown Court

Copyright © 2014 Matinee Classics LLC - All Rights Reserved. Developed by: VividConcept.com